Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It seems to be increasingly clear that a lot of children use their smartphones too much every day. This phenomenon has aroused grave concern among teenagers, teachers and parents since it has brought a considerable number of problems. The following paragraphs outline the underlying causes and the negative consequences to this worried trend. Diverse contributing factors are identified. One of the major reasons is that technology is convenient for people to communicate with friends. For example, we use communication or social applications, such as Whatsapp, Telegram and Facebook chat box, to keep in contact and organize dating with peers directly, instead of making decisions in the real world or calling on the phone. In addition to this, the entertainment offered by these apps has contributed greatly to the upward of using smartphone in the number of youngsters. Specifically speaking, those apps provide different entertainments for children to spend their time. Even though they can watch movies in the cinema or play card games on the table, the technology is put the top priority by them since those activities are in the digital world by a smartphone. The effects of this are well known. There is a tendency to believe that adolescents have concentrated on electronic devices for a long time which harms their physical health. A report in the Health Department revealed that over 60% of children had eyes issue compared with that in the past 20 years since they use electronic things, smartphone or tablet, for studying and entertaining in 10 hours every day. This also leads them to spend less time on academic learning. All evidence supports that students use non-studying applications during the lessons and play games anywhere and anytime. That is a harmful impact for students’ development. Cruel though the fact is, we still have to admit it smartphones are used by many children since it is experiencing the significant that technologies industry is a steadily growth. In conclusion, the reasons why people spend more time on their smartphone, but convenience and district apps play an important role. It may indeed negative affect physical development and academic performance. Only with a concerted effort by both students, teachers and parents can this situation be truly resolved.