It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. Do you agree that this is the main cause of juvenile crime? What solutions can you offer to solve this issue?

Nowadays, there has been an increasing number of juvenile delinquency, causing problematic impacts on our society. While some argue that the prevalence of violence in social media is the main cause of this phenomenon, others believe that there are more factors behind this. Accordingly, this essay will investigate this global matter and its cause and explore a few feasible strategies to tackle this challenge. Firstly, the core contributing factor of this crime is due to the shattering of family structure in contemporary society. Resulted of the economic inflation crisis, many parents struggle to maintain proper family hours, leaving many young children unsupervised during afterschool hours. This lack of role modelling from parents significantly reduces the amount of opportunities for children to develop positive behaviours. On top of the preceding factor, mobile devices also expose negative influences to our young adults. Many reports have recognised the prevalence of lacking parental guidance in children's use of social media. Subsequently, kids were heavily influenced by the explicit aggressive behaviours featured in the games they played or online conversations, as they have not yet acquainted with the capabilities to identify what is right or wrong. This then further leads to a series of imitation of the negative behaviours by the teenagers. To prevent more teenagers from falling into the criminal pathway, parents and schools should work collaboratively to model the correct behaviours for our kids. At schools, teachers can develop a curriculum to explicitly teach students the ethical conduct and model how to regulate our emotions using appropriate communicative tools rather than aggressive actions. At home, parents can spend more time with their kids, supervising their screen times as well as helping them to distinguish inappropriate content online. Conclusively, it is clear that there are multiple factors that trigger the growing number of juvenile crime cases, namely family structure changes, lack of supervision and the influence of social media. Therefore, solving this phenomenal issue requires a consistent effort committed by both school and family to facilitate our children to use their devices appropriately and construct their abilities to not be influenced by the aggressive culture online.