Globalisation has highlighted the need for international communication. It is often argued that English should be compulsory subject for all school children around the world. Others argue that this would do more harm than good. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today's world, the demand for foreign languages is surging rapidly because of increasing internationalization. There is a growing debate that schools must teach English language as a mandatory subject whereas other proponents argue that the negative effects of learning a global language outweigh its benefits. This essay will elaborate on both sides and I will present my point of view. No doubt, due to the advancement of technology, worldwide trade is increasing dramatically and as a result it is becoming compulsory for every individual to know English for communication overseas as it is the only language spoken by more than half of nations over the earth. Consequently, children should be taught this language at very early age as their minds are in the developing stage and it is easier for them to learn new subjects compared to adulthood. Also, many big global corporations work in bilingual languages (English or French) by having the knowledge of English people from developing nations can work in developed countries such as the US, Australia, and Canada by crossing the language barrier and could secure a good career. On the other side, making the English language mandatory can result in loss of jobs in traditional sectors and thus unemployement rates will rise in developing nations as their are less people who can communicate in English in some underdevelop Change the form of the verb underdeveloped show examples countries also children will no longer be connected to their roots. To illustrate, a study was conducted in 2012 in Indian high schools which shows that 60% of students are not able to communicate in their mother-tongue because the schools do not have the subject. To conclude, I believe learning a foreign language should be mandatory for everbody, especially English as students from undeveloped countries will have a better future by having opportunity to study in international colleges and gaining skills which they latter can use in their own provience providence. Moreover, the higher authorities had better conduct seminars to expand to awareness about the importance of knowing a non-native language.