Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With an unprecedented increase in car ownership in recent years, ensuring road safety has become a top priority for many relevant government authorities. Among many measures suggested is raising the minimum age at which people should be permitted to drive a car or ride motorbikes. While the driver immaturity can occasionally contribute to accidents, I do not think it is the primary cause. Therefore, alternative and more effective solutions should be considered. Without background sentence: There is a view that the minimum age at which people should be permitted to drive a car or ride motorbikes should be raised. While the driver immaturity can occasionally contribute to accidents, I do not think it is the primary cause. Therefore, alternative and more effective solutions should be cons. The combination of youth and inexperience, however, can prove fatal on the roads. Their youth can make drivers more prone to risky behavior such as dangerous overtaking or speeding, while their inexperience often reduces their ability to spotpotential hazards. Personality traits that are typical of young people should also be taken into account. Impulsiveness and sensation-seeking are pertinent examples of such characteristics that make people susceptibleto driving errors or violation of traffic rules, putting themselves, their passengers and pedestrians at risk. So, increasing the minimum age of operating a vehicle could enhance road safety by giving time for prospective drivers to mature. These arguments notwithstanding, it should be noted that a lack of driver maturity accounts for only a minor share of road accidents, highlighting the need for other more effective approaches to address the issue. One such measure would be to invest in advanced pedestrian protection in vehicles, with the pedestrian detection systems potentially offering the greatest benefit. Such systems employ sensors, cameras, and radar to identify pedestrians in the vehicle’s path. If the collision is imminent the system can trigger automatic brakes or warn the driver to take evasive action. Another measure, one that can further reinforce the former, is to improve road infrastructure. This can involve the installation of better pedestrian crossings, pedestrian detection signals at intersections, and well-designed urban planning to create safer walking environments. Such changes to urban designs and roads are especially crucial in high-risk areas, such as near schools and other densely populated locations. In conclusion, raising the minimum driving age may bring potential benefits, yet it is by no means the most effective approach. Therefore, I am in favor of exploring other measures to ensure road safety, such as investing in advanced protection features on roads and improved road infrastructure.