In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In many countries today, people are now living longer than ever before. At the same time, some believe that governments significantly suffer from an aging population. Others claim that the advantages of their existence outweigh the disadvantages. This essay will discuss this issue and clarify both perspectives with supportive examples. On the one hand, some people believe that governments are affected by the increase in the percentage of elderly people. Firstly, elderly people need health care more than younger age. We know that when people get older more chronic diseases appear such as high blood pressure, high sugar levels, low hemoglobin, and generally health issues, which require from government to prepare a lot of medicines and lab tests for them, which can be financially challenging for any country. Secondly, usually elderly people live alone which makes them a target for thieves. On the other hand, many people see the great advantages that aging people add to society. Governments can create flexible job opportunities suited to their abilities for example painting and security for malls or monitoring security TVs. Furthermore, parents often rely on them to help care for their children. The advice from grandparents to grandchildren especially, teenager has positively affected their behaviour. Also, some of the historical days or events can only be recalled or remembered by them.   In conclusion, Governments put a lot of effort into mitigating the impact of increasing the percentage of elderly people and facilitating many of their resources to assist them to live happily and benefit from their wisdom and experience. We should all be thankful to them for their support as parents.