Many students face difficulties when they move from high school to university. Why do you think students struggle with this transition? What can universities do to help students adapt more easily?

It is true that lots of high school seniors find it challenging to upgrade to universities. There could be a range of reasons resulting in this present condition and fortunately, there are also some potential measures that universities can take to tackle these issues. Finding it difficult to adapt to the university ’s atmosphere is something common between students entering universities for the first time. The chief reason behind it can be actually the fear of this new phase of your life as a full adult. Attending university is a milestone in anyone’s life especially because it is mostly combined with moving out of your parents’ house since students may get accepted at universities which are not located in their own hometown. Moving out and starting a new journey seems really exciting for most individuals; however, in order to be successful in achieving your dreams you should possess qualities such as independence, initiative and resilience. All these mentioned can cause you stress, particularly when you have just started and are somehow naive. So, in order to help students get along better with the new conditions, universities can run a campaign to support freshmen during the very first stages of their transition from high school lifestyle to university. For example, some universities organize specific campaigns for new students to help them get familiar with the city and so on. Something else that universities can do is to ask seniors to hold some tours for junior students to explain to them the courses they should take or walk them through different parts of the campus. These all together can make a comfortable atmosphere for the new arrivals and speed up the transition time. In conclusion, attending university can be stressful and overwhelming for many individuals, but with the help of university staff and other alumni, the adaptation process can become much more smoother.