Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that individuals should compete at school or work because it can improve the quality of work effectively, while others argue that it is better to promote cooperation. This essay will discuss both views and explain why I think that the competition and coorperation are equally vital in school and workplace. On the one hand, people believe that competition is good since it is a key driver contributing to the greater quality of work. By participating in any competition, workers or students are enforced to show their best and improve their abilities. Moreover, rewards or recognition given to winners can significantly motivate participants to perform better. For example, many companies organize hackathon events in order to get the best business solutions from their employees. As a result, the companies get many fantastic ideas that would never receive if they follow usual work procedures. Therefore, if companies or schools want to push their workers' or students' limitations, it is better to promote competition. On the other hand, some think that people should work as a team because many tasks require a good teamwork rather than working alone. It is undeniable that many tasks are better done by gathering intelligent contributors. For instance, to create an amazing marketing campaign, employees should include opinions from various departments such as marketing, customer services, or even product development team. If they work together, more ideas will be generated through a brainstroming meeting, making the campaign is more practical and solid. Hence, in some areas, cooperation is still essential to produce decent workpieces. In conclusion, although it is an ongoing debate that whether competition is good or cooperation is better, I firmly say that both are equally important and they should be balanced depending on contexts. While competition can incentivise individuals to learn new skills and develop themselves, cooperation and teamwork play an important role in many tasks, especially collaborative tasks.