Today many people spend less and less time in their homes. What are the reasons and what are the effects of this trend on individuals and society?

Nowadays, the time that people stay in their homes is lower than before. I believe that there are several reasons for this phenomenon, and the society and individual may be affected by this situation. First of all, since our society have become more competitive, compared with decades ago, people need to spend plenty of time working in their office. As a result, the main funtion of house is changed to be a sleeping area. For example, employees usually contain enormous worklods everyday, so they should try their best to complete them. Therefore, workers may stay in the work place as late as possible to finish tasks, and they may not have to much time to stay in their houses. Second, because more are more people are single, they prefer to meet their friends and have some entertainments rather than be at home. In short, some people are unable to go home, and the others are reluctant to stay at home. Since various workers spend less time in their houses, they may lose the chance to strengthen relationship with their families. The family connection will not be as strong as before. For instance, my friend is a software engineer. He always need to write programs in the office until the midnight, and he accumulate a huge amount of wealth by doing this job. However, he is unfamiliar with his family, since he is seldom at home, and he does not have a opportunity to interact with his daughter. On the soceity side, the demand of greater houses may decrease because individual only pursue a place for slpeeing speeding. As a result, there are numerous small apartments or stuios may be built. In conclusion, because of working and accompany situation, people spend less time in their living places. This condition may affect family connection and the housing demand.