In many countries the widespread use of internet has given people more freedom to work or study at home instead of traveling to work or college. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Recently, the prevalence of internet application has significantly enhanced the variety of options for people to work and study. While some argue that its benefits outweigh the drawbacks, I believe having such viewpoint is biased and we should carefully consider this social reform. The most outstanding advantage of the application of the internet is that it leverages the physical barriers, providing each individual with more conveniences. Students or employees no longer need to worry about laboriousily laborious spending time on daily commute to schools or offices, as this is taken over by digital collaborative platforms. In other words, they can actively participate in the learning activities or group conferences without being hindered by their locations. In addtion to this, the time for travelling can be re-utilised for team meetings online, enhancing the level of working effectiveness which ultimately brings more benefits to the company. There has been numerous cases of companies that effectively adopt such mixed working model, especially during the pandemic times where global medical companies work virtuely together to invent vaccines and medicine to combat the prevailing virus. Nevertheless, there are some inevitable drawbacks of online schools and work. Eventhough it is a comfortable means of working, employees may feel left out due to the lack of face-to-face communication which exposes negative influence on their performances. Furthermore, with the digital homeschooling, soft skills such as discipline, teamwork and socializing cannot be taught. For instance, while on zoom meeting employees or students are not much interactive which they can be, when they are having a face to face communication. Conclusively, I believe, even though people have the independence of online education and job at the comfort of their home, the drawbacks namely, a decline in productivity due to absence of team spirit and lack of overall personality development of a child due to inadequate social skills overshadows the advantages. Hence, the traditional method of going to college and office are irreplaceable and it would be more beneficial to opt for a more balanced approach.