'People who do not use social media networks* will always fall behind in career development opportunities.' To what extent do you feel that this is an accurate and important prediction ?

In recent times, the utilisation of social media platforms is constantly growing thanks to the development of technology and becomes ubiquitous in career progression. Although connections through the internet may enable individuals to build professional relationships with employees or employers, I believe that people who are not part of those links can also thrive thanks to their qualifications and work experiences. In an onset, internet networks are deemed as a useful means for employees since they can interact with companies. This can be exemplified by the fact that popular firms including Google or Microsoft, have implemented an online system of hiring allowing individuals to get in touch with the hirer prior to receive an interview. This enables the employer to have a first contact with the applicant in order to evaluate his capabilities based on the company’s target. Consequently, the use of social media is beneficial for career development since it encourages applicants to stay in touch with companies. People who are outside the internet network are, however, not always far from being successful in their professional life because the first attribute considered for an applicant is his qualifications alongside his previous experiences. Indeed, mainly all jobs require an interview to evaluate whether the applicant will be a valuable employee for the company. That is the reason why employers rely principally on people´s experiences and value their interpersonal skills such as communication or data interpretation which are crucial within an organisation. Hence, work experience as well as the skills of the employee, can significantly help him to thrive. In conclusion, I believe that online networks could be a step forward in enhancing careers for individuals as they allow candidates to build relationships with firms according to their targets. Nevertheless, an applicant's skills should not be neglected since they are the pillar of developing a career and are as important as building a professional network.