Some people think that children who spend a lot of time reading children's story books are wasting their time which could be better used doing other more useful activities. To what extent do you agree ?

Reading had been deemed as a favorable leisure activity in the children's development. It is even seen as one of the most effective means to educate young pupils through a hobby, but it is important to note that their learning should not be restricted to scholar activities. That is the reason why I believe that, although reading books can be useful for children, a wide range of different entertainments are suggested to them in order to maintain equilibrium in their social life. To begin with, children's stories are advantageous since they appear as a useful means to keep the youth away from screens as they tend to be more concentrated in their reading rather than watching television. For example, many parents have implemented a rule for their descendants regarding the screen time which is incredibly damaging for their eyes. Instead of offering them electronics gadgets, they have decided to invest in books as part of their free time activity, but also to reduce the time spent in front of tablets and mobile phones. Hence, books are seen as a positive value to children ´s education. Nevertheless, the youth institution should not be restricted to scholar activities as they also need extra-curricular ones including sport, in order to maintain a balanced lifestyle. Many pupils highlight the importance of free time activities involving the student´s well-being as a priority. Indeed, plenty of social clubs such as cultural community or sport club are suggested in a large number of schools in order to give the opportunity of children to socialize by meeting new people and to broaden their horizons. Therefore, many other forms of hobbies, despite being extra-curricular, positively impact the child. In conclusion, reading books is not a waste of time since it appears as a step forward for many families to educate their children by limiting their time in front of screens. However, there are several other entertainments that kids could be part of, such as extra-curricular activities in schools which enable them to socialize. Even thought I recognize benefits of reading books, young people should also discover other areas to widen their network and be committed in social activities.