More and more people are migrating to big cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. Despite many challenges, why do people move to big cities? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Since the Industrial Revolution, people have started to move from the countryside to cities, looking for jobs and opportunities. This process is still ongoing today, even if, sometimes, it is not so simple as it could seem. Cities are bigger and overcrowded, for example. However, people continue to choose the city instead of town for many practical reasons. Living in a city is not easy for everyone. Cities are big, there are hundreds roads, dozens shopping centers, and many different underground lines. Sometimes, it can be difficult to find your own place inside this big environment. Despite many people live there, finding new and solid friendships is complicated. The pace of life is fast, everyone focuses on his job and leaves less time for social activities. A recent research from an American university has shown that people, who moved from a small town to a big city, feel alone and lost for at least six months, before finding a “comfortable environment”. Nevertheless, many families still move to the city. The possible – but uncertain – future that the city can offer outweights the initial difficulties. After people get used to the city, they finally can start to build their future, finding a job position, a new apartment, and new friends. People not always choose the city in searching of new opportunities, sometimes they are obliged. It is more and more expensive to maintain a house in the countryside, especially when you have kids, and sometimes the city is cheaper. Indeed, it is an economic choice to survive. To sum up, nowadays, migration from the countryside to the city is still popular. Despite many concerns about living in a big city, people are looking for job and life opportunities. Their possible future is more important than any difficulty.