You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science as a subject. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words

Generally, students are less and less interested in scientific fields, especially at university. There are several reasons why this happens, in particular related with the complexity of the subject. Moreover, this leads also to several consequences, such lack of experts in the future. Science is becoming less popular among pupils, in relation to its difficulty. Becoming a scientist is a long path, which usually takes more than five years of study, sacrifices, and money. Furthemore, future perspectives are not so encouraging as 10 years ago, in that most of the available careers are already occupied. Today, people prefer finding a flexible job, instead of dealing with the same sample inside a laboratory. However, this trend has only negative effects. If just a minority chooses to study science at university, there will not be enough experts in the future. This could be a problem, especially if we consider that, in the next 30 years, we will need more and more people dealing with scientific discoveries, in order to find new treatments for future diseases or viruses, or, for example, solutions to climate change. Recent research from an American university has shown that just 1 person to 10 would like to attend a university course related to science. This survey explains, with clear figures, the actual problem, which will continue to increase over the years. To sum up, nowadays science - as well as related subjects - is rejected by young students, for its complexity and length. There might be several consequences of this choice, in an uncertain future, which will need scientists' knowledge more than ever.