some people think that governments should invest more in public transportation instead of bulding new roads and highways? To what extent do you agree?

In many countries, traffic congestion and pollution have become major problems. While some people argue that governments should allocate money to develop highways to combat these issues,I personally believe that investing in mass transportaion such as buses, trains and subways is sustainable way to mitigate these problems. No doubt, air pollution is increasing at an alarming rate which is mainly caused by increased traffic jams and carbon emmision emissions by private vehicles.Dependency on personal vehicles is a main reason behind this issue, which can be solved by making public transportation more accessible. Although allocating funds for the development of community transportations might be expensive than expanding highways, the benefits such as an increase in air quality and decline in traffic congestions is worth it. For instance, countries like Japan and swizerland have invested in public buses and trains, which have not only decreased traffic on the roads but also improved living quality because of a decline in air pollution. While expanding highways and roads can improve traffic flows temporarily, this solution work for short time owing to increasing papulation. Additionally,improving roads and highway encourages other people too who may using public transportation which cause traffic on the roads and more carbon emmision emissions whereas mass transportaion not only help to fight environmental problems but also make travelling affordable and covenient for the average earners. For example, cities like Montreal and Brampton have sustainable and budget friendly mean of public buses and trains which have encouraged people to use it often instead of private vehicles. In conclusion, while improving highways and local roads can increase traffic flow temporarily, in the long-term development in public buses and trains is a sustainable way to solve environmental issues.The governments should prioritize public transportation instead of expanding road infrastrucres infrastructure as it is more effective.