Some people think that social skills are as important as academic qualifications. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Academic qualifications are often regarded as the primary criterion on which to judge whether a person can succeed or not in society. In my view, social skills are also a vital part of gaining success and are integral to the modern workforce. On the one hand, academic success helps to lay the foundation for a person's future success. It is widely acknowledged that the knowledge one learns throughout school and university provides the person with the essentials from which his or her career can bel launched. For example, an academic qualification helps distinguish a candidate from the crowd and shows he or she has the necessaryl capabilities for a role. However, there are many aspects to a job, and an employee without highly developed social skills will not be beneficial in the workplace. On the other hand, well-developed social skills and soft skills are essential in the modern workplace. They equip a person with the ability to work effectively in a team and help them to understand the broader needs of the organization. For example, success within a modern technology company, like Google, requires everyone to work within a team, as prolonged success is hard to achieve alone. People need to communicate with others, and without excellent social skills, academic qualifications are not enough to pave the way to success inl most modern organizations. Furthermore, great social skills are beneficial in helping someone acquire the necessary traits to become a manager, whereas people are rarely promoted on knowledge alone. In conclusion, modern society views academic qualifications as exceptionally important. However, I believe the contemporary workforcel workforces requires people to have both social skills and educational requirements to be successful.