The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by ‎almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this ‎disturbing trend.‎

There is a 20% rise of overweight adolescents in western society in last one decade. This is mainly because of less physical activity and dependency on junk food. Due to these causes, there are a number of effects on the health. One of the major contributor of this issue is that children are sitting in front of electronic devices. This means that they are spending more time watching screens and due to that their physical movement is reduced. As a result, they are becoming more couch potatoes. Secondly, nutrition plays a vital role for child's good health. Nowadays, offsprings are eating more fast foods instead of home cooked food because of that their weight is increasing significantly. These fast foods are only unhealthy, but they are unhygenic as well. For example, an article published in The New York Times that fast foods is compared with drugs which are considered to be addictive and cause numerious health complications. There are some negative effects of this trend. Obesity makes a child more lazy which can affect its cognetive development in the growing years. For instance, every school have a sports period in their curriculum, which indicated that exercise is as much as important as studies. Beacuse it is seen that children who maintain a good physique, do well in studies. Another negative effect of overweight is that it weaks your immune system which leads to recurring health problems like flu, cold and more. To conclude,in the recent ten years, we have seen 20% hike of overweight children in western culture, which is influenced by junk foods and minimal physical excersion which give rise to health issues like obesity and weak immune system.