In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Customers widely regard innovation as essential, and to appeal to them, companies nowadays market their products as new in some form. I partly believe that this is a positive development. Businesses highlight the novelty of their products to differentiate themselves from competitors and, mainly, attract customers. For example, each year, Apple holds a webinar called the Worldwide Developers Conference, where they announce their upcoming achievements. Moreover, highlighting novelty stimulates customer curiosity and encourages them to replace or upgrade to new products. However, overwhelming potential buyers with novelty-based advertisements can lead to disposability, causing customers to feel pressured to frequently replace their items, often due to peer influence. Furthermore, quickly replacing gadgets contributes to wastefulness and environmental issues. Nonetheless, running these marketing campaigns is essential to raise awareness about upcoming technologies, and often new gadgets symbolise progress and advancements, which enhances brand image and helps foster a lifestyle associated with being modern and trendy. In conclusion, I partly believe that advertising that highlights a product’s uniqueness is a positive development, as it often represents progress and innovation. Moreover, this could encourage buyers to purchase newer items, often due to peer influence. However, overwhelming them would lead to the disposability of gadgets, contributing to landfills and environmental issues.