Mobile phones and the internet bring a lot of benefits to people nowadays. However, older people use them the least. In what aspects do mobile phones and the internet benefit older people? How can we encourage them to use these technologies?

The development of technology brings convenience to people. Nowadays, elders do not use smartphones and the internet that much. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages of technology to the elderly and the solution to enhance their usage of them. Firstly, staying connected is one of the benefits of using cell phones and the Internet. That can help the elderly keep in touch with their friends without leaving home, because the function of the body might decrease as the growth ages, which could be a barriers of hang outside, thus, using technology is a safety way to keep connection with friends. As well as keep in touch with families that they built their own families and can not come home as they were children. Moreover, video calls can let grandparents see their grandchildren by Internet. Learning how to use new technology can break the distance between people, and declining the loneliness feeling. However, encouraging them to use the Internet and cellphones needs a lot of patience, older population can not learn as fast as the young generation, thus we need to step by step teaching them clearly, and try hard not to yell at them. On the other hand, choosing simplelize cell phone could be an option for the elderly, because they do not need to have a difficult function in their phones, the major part should be a significant icon so that they can find applications easily. In conclusion, I believe the profits of old people use mobile phones and the Internet to enrich their emotions and maintain the connection with friends and families, but much help by choosing the suitable devices.