It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

Nowadays, the popularity of on-line shopping is growing significantly and more people tend to shop from large scale supermarkets or from on-line shops. The main causes for this trend is that the quality of the products are more consistant and because of the convenance of shopping on-line. This can affect small businesses negatively, for this reason many are working to find solutions to tackle this issue. The number of consumers buying local shops is rapidly declining, as a result many of these shops are closing because they can not afford to pay rent and support their businesses. For example, if most customers go to Starbucks to buy coffee, the local coffee shops would be forced to close-down. However, the addition of supermarkets to small communities have it's benefits, one main advantage is providing stable jobs for young people. Because, large companies often have a stable income and therefore its employees would get a stable salary. Furthermore, it is essential to support local shops, because they support the economy of the community as a whole. For this reason, consumers should be encouraged to buy their needs from local shops or the local farmer's market. One of the most effective solutions to this problem, is for the government to provide financial support to small businesses. This will be considered as a loan to keep these shops working, and they can pay it back after a few years. For example, Saudi Arabia provide around 4500 Saudi ryals per month to local flowers shops to support them. In summery, the addition of large supermarkets to the community have its advantages and drawbacks. Local shops are affected by the decreasing number of custemers, and therefore declining its income. This issue can be solved by promoting local products to individuals and providing finacial support from the government.