Q; Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuels for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental problems are increasing day by day. Raising the prices of gas for automobiles is considered a very good option by a group of individuals to curb the issue of environmental problems. I totally disagree with this statement because of increasing inflation and its impact on the common household. To commence with, firstly, inflation. As we all know, the prices of fuel and other common things like groceries are already increasing. In the present scenario of rising prices, if the government increases the price of petrol or diesel it will affect the common people negatively. A normal middle-class man finds it difficult to fulfill the necessities of his family. If the charges hike up for fuel, it will prove bad for them. For example, in the last few years in India the gas prices increase by 10%. In the year 2020 the price of diesel was 65 rupees per liter, however, today it is 75 rupees per liter. Furthermore, the increase in the price of energy places an extra burden on the pockets of low-income individuals, especially those living in sub-urban or rural areas where public transportation is not accessible. People must use their own private vehicles for going to work and earn their livelihood. For instance, in number of villages in India bus service is not available. As a result, it becomes necessary for the villagers to use their own resources for commuting to work, schools, healthcare, etcetera. Adding up the cost of fuel will only affect the poor households. To conclude, I would say that increasing the fuel price is not an appropriate method to solve environmental problems. It places an undue burden on ordinary people without promising the actual results.