Some people argue that animal experimentation on animals is bad and needs to be outlawed. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

A group of people believes that science experiment on animals is cruel and should should be banned. However, there are also another group that believes this is justifiable because of its benefits. In my opinion this is the only way to test most of the science projects and can be justified as long as it is done responsibly. Firstly, some important discoveries such as new medicines and vaccine are important for human life. There is no safe way for scientist to decide that those medications are safe to use without proper testing. To make sure those innovation are useful and safe, they must be tested on some animals which are genetically similar to humans, which is a safer way to test their effectiveness. For example, the scientist often test a new medicine on pigs and rats to understand the effect of certain chemical substances, thus helps them to understand any potential harm and benefits. Furthermore, I think there are no other way to test these kind of experiments and discoveries which can depict the effects of some certain procedures and medications on human. Although some animal rights activist might argue that we can do the test on a computer simulations, it can not really depict the risk of those invention realistically, therefore, using animals as a test bed can be justified because of the greater benefits it offers. Our only challenge is to control on how scientist can perform the experiment in a morally-justified way possible. All in all, although some disagreement from animal rights activist, the benefit of testing drugs and many other inventions on animals are important to keep human society safe from unintended effects of those new medications.