Many young people today leave school with a negative attitude towards learning. What is the reason, and what can be done to encourage a positive attitude to learning.

In the recent years, a large number of students are leaving their educational institutions with a disinterest in learning. Outdated teaching methods and exam-driven systems are the main causes for this attitude among the learners, however, several steps can be taken to solve this problem. To commence with, one of the most dominating issue is the outdated system of mentoring used in schools. To explicate, even in today's technological era schools are using the same old ways to teach the students. They are using paper books and giving students a huge chunk of home work. It might seems boring to young learners. Secondly, modern institutions are using the exam-driven system to check the academic performance of students. Parents often pressurize their children to get good grades. It will affect their mental health and leads to stress and anxiety. For example, because of exam pressure and fear of getting less grades many students end their lives by suicide in India every year. Moving forward, to create a better lerning environment number of steps can be taken. First, instead of relying on the traditional methods of teaching, schools should use modern technological methods like computers, offer smart- classes etcetera. It will help the learners to get hands on technology, which is very important in the present age. Moreover, nowadays, students love using diffrent types of gadgets like laptops, smart tabs. Secondly, rather than focusing on tests, educators include group projects, assignments and other fun activities like in- class presentations. This will help to develop a sense of team work and students often enjoy the company of peers. In this way, they learn everything while enjoying. Last but not least, in order to reduce the academic pressure schools must organise recreational activities like sports, games etcetera. It will help children to relax and divert their attention from their syllabus. Overall, there are some reasons like exam fear and old learning methods are the reasons for the development of negative attitude towads learning. Taking steps like including digital learning systems and organising different events at institutions will redevelop a passion for learning.