More and more fathers are taking a break from their careers so that they can stay home and take care of their children while their wives work. This is better for the family than having both parents work full time. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is no denying the fact that many fathers decide to take a break from their jobs to dedicate most of the time to their home and children while their wives are still working. At the same time there is a commonly held belief that one of the parents should quit working to give better care for their kids, there is also an argument that opposes it. In my opinion, I consider that taking a break from work can cause a lot of negative impacts for fathers. To begin with, the decision to leave work may cause a decline in a father’s career, which leads him to miss the developments that happen in their field. In other words, jobs markets are constantly changing and evolving, employees must stay in parallel with these changes to preserve their value. In addition, taking a break from pursuing careers may result in losing a sense of work and staying out of competition. For example, if either of the parents worked in the fast-paced technology industry and chose to take a two-year break, they might struggle to catch up with the new tools and trends. Another point to consider, Spending the whole time at home without any professional achievement will lead to mental health problems. It is also possible to say that seeing the accomplishments of other co-workers and their improvements can make some fathers feel unproductive and undervalued, leading to inner conflicts and feeling depressed. Moreover, fathers will face a lot of free time, since children spend half of their time school, while moms are busy at work, leading to developing many bad habits such as fast-food addiction, and smoking. For example, a several of phychological research stated that most of males are more likely to get depressed if they don’t have any productive activities in their day. In conclusion, despite people having different views, I believe that fathers should not quit their job to maintain their productivity and mental health, and this will be better for the family.