In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Skill-based learning is a strongly debated topic in the modern age. In many countries, there is a trend among the younger generation in which they prefer practical learning over taking lectures at University. This essay will first look at the provisions of this before moving on to look at drawbacks. Advantages Practical competence can provide multiple career prospects to younger generations, they can earn money through remote work. This allows them to spend time with their families and enjoy their leisure time with their friends. Moreover, they can also learn hard skills through short courses which gives them an edge over normal candidates when applying for jobs. For example, Harvard University offers online courses for students living outside America in fields like computer science, arts, and literature,these high achievers from these courses are offered jobs from large corporations. Drawbacks Skill-based education could not allow students to experience university life which is also a vital experience to have during study years. Remote job restricts social activities and instils physiological disabilities because of overtime on the job. For instance, people doing online jobs have no job security and they have to work long hours to maintain their positions in the corporation. In conclusion, practical learning has multiple prospects which gives freedom while choosing careers with some drawbacks. For this reason, I believe that skill-based education outweighs its flaws.