Academic plagiarism has become a pressing issue in many countries today.What are the causes of this problem? What are some possible solutions?

Most people nowadays are aiming for higher education, but consequently some problems arise. Academic plagiarism has become a pressing issue in many countries today. In this essay I would like to discuss the causes of this problem and provide some possible solutions. Human knowledge is growing each day - we are always coming up with new discoveries, research, etc. And now with the help of The Internet all of those discoveries as well as articles and other writings are very easily accessible. Therefore, it is quite hard for students to stop themselves from copying some of that information in their work, that is why the number of plagiarism cases is rocketing. Let’s face it - plagiarism makes the task much quicker and also might make the students appear smart in front of their professors, if they don’t get caught, of course. That is the only bright side of plagiarism though, because it is rightly considered as cheating - it’s an issue that prevents students from thinking on their own and coming up with original ideas. So, having said all that, a question arises - what can be done to solve this problem? An issue is that usually it is quite hard to spot plagiarism. I think that a useful tool for this could be AI powered programs which can detect plagiarism. Once plagiarists are caught further actions can be taken. Some schools of higher education are already using punishment, such as warnings and threats of ejection, to prevent students from cheating. In my opinion that can be quite effective. In conclusion I want to say that nowadays, when so much information is at our hands, plagiarism is an unavoidable consequence, but it is an important issue that has to be resolved. One way is to apply new technologies such as AI in the fight with this problem.