What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

In recent years, computer games have revolutionized the entertainment industry. While the shift contributes to numerous benefits, it also leads to drawbacks like addiction. To alleviate this issue, I believe governments should implement time limitations on these games. One primary disadvantage of computer games is being addicted to the exciting games. To be specific, many modern games are designed to be highly stimulating, only to offer players a sense of instant satisfaction that is hard to find in real life scenarios. Moreover, the games’ companies would harness some strategies that force players to stay online, which can trigger their further addiction of games and prolong their playing hours. For instance, some games consist of daily missions that require players to log into the games everyday to get the special prizes. Eventually, players pick up this negative habits and start putting more focus on the virtual world, leading to a sedentary lifestyle. A key method to tackle this problem is the time limitation that is regulated by authorities. Notably, governments could set reasonable limits on screen times and encourage people to have balanced lifestyle. For instance, the Japanese government implemented a targeted regulation, particularly focusing on computer games, which only allows consumers, especially those under 18, to log into games for the maximum of 8 hours per day. By cooperating with some gaming companies, this strategy was successful and efficiently decreased the addiction caused by games. In conclusion, although computer games nowadays can be too appealing and affect people’s life (addiction), with appropriate time limitation strategies executed by authorities, this issue can be tackled productively.