In some societies, the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. To what extent do you agree?

Juvenile delinquency is experiencing an upward trend in some countries. Although some individuals believe that teenagers should serve adolescent penalties, the essay does not agree with that idea, thinking that the psychological state and resilience as well as life experience and motives of crimes committed by adults and juveniles vary, which make it inappropriate to implement the same type of punishment. Worldwide, the number of crimes committed in various spheres of our lives has increased due to various reasons. Moreover, the crime rate among teenagers has also gone up, which makes some people think that it would be effective to give both adult and teenage criminals the same penalties. However, it can not be effective as the psychological situation of them is different: children can not think about their actions as deeply as adults can; they do not mostly foresee the consequences and the real harm they cause. Furthermore, imposing harsher punishments will affect them negatively; the efficiency will decrease. In addition, children have less experience in comparison with adults, which makes it unfair to charge them the same punishment. Adults completely understand that committing a crime will have a bad impact on the society, but children can not understand it completely. For instance, the statistics provided by the Ministry of Justice of the Russian Federation in 2025 has highlighted that during crime investigations approximately 78% of offspring were not aware of their actions, while 83% of adults admitted that they committed crimes premeditatedly. At the same time, motives of the crime also change in that situation, particularly because children and adults do not hold equal opportunities. Children depend on their families and easily come under the influence of society; they are more sensitive and mentally fragile owing to the hormonal disbalance they face during the period of growing. But the same can not be said for adults who are mentally more stable and have all keys to change their lives the way they want. For example, the researchers of the American Association of Psychologists have revealed that the application of the same psychological conditions to the humans of various age groups affects them all differently due to emotional immaturity which makes the effectiveness of it lower. To conclude, even though it is widely discussed that children and adults should receive the same punishments after committing crimes, the essay does not support the idea at all due to finding it inefficient and unfair because of the level of maturity.