With the increased global demand for oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree? Angsa

Some argued that untouched areas should be investigated to fulfill the growing demand for fossil fuels. Although the oil and gas extraction could help to meet the need, it also causes a detrimental impact on the environment. I completely disagree with this statement for several reasons, which are explained further with suitable explanations and examples. First and foremost, environmental damage is a major concern. To explain it, many areas are sensitive, such as the Arctic, rainforests, and deep-sea environments. The process of investigating these areas could lead to irreversible damage, such as oil spills, habitat destruction, and loss of biodiversity. Additionally, it is also a violation of human rights. theses undiscovered places are home to someone who depends on them for survival and culture. Resource extraction can displace them, pollute the air, soil, and water. For instance, a survey conducted in Japan revealed that over 90% of environmental pollution is caused by the demand for fossil fuels, leading to issues such as deforestation and the release of toxic gases into the air. Moving further, dependency on non-renewable energy sources goes against to combat global warming. The world has already faced the effects of global warming, including rising sea levels, melting glaciers, and extreme weather. By continuing the use of these resources, people contribute to making this condition hazardous. Nextly, the extraction process requires a huge amount of money, and it may cause health problems such as asthma, lung disease, and dirty drinking water for nearby communities. For example, the research conducted by a neighboring university had data that more than 70% of the increment can be witnessed after the introduction of hydrocarbon fuels. To sum up, I believe that opening undiscovered areas for oil and gas extraction is not a responsible or long-term solution; instead of wasting money on short-term solutions, people should invest in sustainable development.