Some people believe that children should be able to choose what to study in school from early on. Other people think most of education should be guided and be based on what is useful, regardless of a child’s preferences.

There are different points of view on how youngsters should choose their primary study path. While some believe that it is fundamental to decide on the objects of study from the outset, others claim that every choice should be made with future usefulness in mind, without considering child’s desires. In my opinion, although it is difficult to understand individuals’ inclinations at an early stage, it is fundamental guided them through the decision-making process while also takin children ’s preferences into account. On the one hand, enrol immediately to a school which allows children to develop their ability on specific topics may enable deeply understanding on the matter. Every newborn shows some tendency since their birth and these abilities need to be nurtured and deepened through a tailored study program. For example, the Netherlands adopted policies which allow students as young as ten to choose among different educational tracks, such as academic, technical, or vocational routes, enabling them to focus on subjects that match their interests and aptitudes from an early stage. On the other hand, children may not be able of channelling their own skills early on. Therefore, parents and educational institutions should take responsibility for making choices that ensures students remain competitive and aligned with labour market demands. However, that approach might undermine the chance for children to further explore and develop their true talents, which could affect their long-term motivation and personal growth. In conclusion, although it is important to prepare children for the job market, I believe that all interest and inclinations should not be overlooked. A balanced approach, where young learners are supported but also listened to, can lead to more effective educational outcomes.