Some people say that parents have the most important role in a child‘s development. However, others argue that other things like television or friends have the most significant influence. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is widely believed that while parents play a notable role in nurturing their child's psychological development, external exposure such as media and friendship might be played a majority of the role due to the significant time spent during the children's growth. As the both opposing views are agreed and disagreed by many, these two sides of the argument will be thoroughly analysed and discussed in this essay before drawing a reasoned conclusion. Initially, it is commonly believed that the reason of why the parents influence the majority of the kid's development is due to the intensive parenting role in first 5-years of children's life. For instance, toddlers' first learning experiences of walking, speaking, and writing are based on a natural observation to their parent's role In addition, this might be the reason why many traumatic symptoms of the majority of the people is rooted from their past chilhood experiences. Therefore, it is predictably undeniable that parental figures still affect a major role in their children's character growth. On the other hand, the external exposure including media and child's external relations could be affecting children's growth, which might be depends on the exposure time and intensity. For example, youngsters who study in a boarding school for a long time might be developing a different habit to the ones in a home-school. To illustrate, the children from a boarding school may be becoming more extroverted than the home-schooled due to the frequent exposure to numerous students. Hence, it also makes sense that the external factors aside from parenting could be the major factor. In summary, both of the arguments give valid reasons to a child's development contributor, which will be vary specifically to certain cases. However, I personally belive that the parental figures are the major contributor to a child's development since they play a critical role in the first 5-years of golden age. Hence, after conducting thorough analysis, it is recommended for parents to take a parenting class due to the significant impact that they might affect.