The population of major cities around the world is increasing very fastly. Why is this the case and what measures could be taken to solve this issue.

Globally, population in several large cities has been growing exponentially, eventually become overcrowded. This issue is the result of better healthcare system and relocation, which could be solved by developing some smaller cities to be good alternatives. In terms of causes, the over- population comes from the better quality of care and new discovery in medical knowledge, as a result the population grow from the longlife elderly and newborns. For example, Thais' baby mortality rate used to be more than 2 babies per 100,000 people, and the average life expectancy was around 72 years old in both gender. In 2020, the newborn death rate decreased to 1.6 and the life expectancy rose to 77 in average. Consequently, with more people born and stay alive, the population keeps rising. In addition, the growing population in major cities are also influenced by relocation of people from less-developed area. It is inevitable for working age labours to move to the area that has more job opportunities, which normally is the larger towns or industrial areas. For instance, the three most densely populated cities are Bangkok, Chonburi and Chiangmai, which half of the people are the real residents, the other half is labours seek for employment. Therefore, in large cities, the issue is partly contributed by the relocation. As for solution, the most effective way to alleviate the overcrowded areas is to develop a new   In conclusion, the over-populated problem potentially causes by more people can be saved at birth, lives longer lives, and moving in from other regions. Therefore, the government should plan to distribute employment and infrastructure to potential smaller towns, which also benefit overall economy.