It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Understanding how to differentiate between wrong and right in an early age is mandatory. Punishment is a crucial way of helping children monitor their actions. This essay firmly disagrees with this trend, and will explain the reasons why setting rules and regulations are not necessary in developing a child’s personality, giving examples afterwards. Granted, some parents might view corrective measures as an essential approach to make them learn from their mistakes. However, not all minors have the same personality. Indeed, some children might react negatively towards punishments. This can worsen the relationship between the parent and the child, as it can create boundaries between them, causing them to be distant. For example, students in schools hide their grades from their fathers, as they tend to be worried about their furious reaction. As a result, the mentioned behavior can alter the relationship between children and parents. This amplifies the need to be emotionally intelligent and patient while dealing with people in this age group, so they don’t hide important events in their lives. One of the main ways how to teach kids without the fear of psychologically affecting them includes taking away something they enjoy using or doing. This might include a favorite game. In this way, they will try to gain it back and learn their lesson. Dealing with youngsters wisely can strengthen bonds between them and help them communicate effectively. For instance, siblings who do not share toys together can be taught how to play equally by hiding the toy till they eventually learn their lesson. Hence, they can absorb the need for equality and apply respect each other’s personal space. In conclusion, disciplinary actions can affect the young in various ways. This includes psychological distress and communication problems. These can be avoided by following the right strategies and trying other methods to teach them, like taking away a treasured item.