Media coverage of violent crime frightens people and encourages criminals. Some people say it should be banned from newspapers and TV programmes. To what extend do you agree or disagree? Beka

The number of people believe that the press coverage of mass crimes scare people and leads criminals to do crimes, so they think it should be banned. I strongly disagree with this statement, because people need to know criminals to their safety and implement preventive measures. Although people start to be afraid after watching such programs about criminals and criminology in general, but people should know the criminals by sight and should know what will happen if you start a crime. This helps people to beware of such criminals. People should be aware of what is happening in their city or country, they have the right to know it. Since many people do not see what is happening in the criminal world, they lead a carefree lifestyle and are not careful with themselves. This should not happen for their own safety. For example, I have a friend who went out for a walk in the evening without watching the news, and that day they showed that a criminal group was operating in our area. He ran into them, but everything worked out. But it could have been that they would have done something to him. Therefore, it is important to be aware of events. Also, thanks to the exposure of criminals to the masses, people can take measures to protect themselves from such people. They will have time to prepare for the worst. Because if criminal groups operate near their place of residence, they must be careful. Because you never know what they can do to you or your loved ones. For example, my uncle in the 90s with his family watched a program about criminals who pick locks and rob apartments. That same day they installed new locks, and the next day it turned out that their neighbor had been robbed. In conclusion, this essay completely disagrees with the idea that criminals should not be publicly exposed because all people have the right to know about the danger and take timely safety measures.