Some people think that children should be taught how to cook at school. Others argue that it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Teaching many different skills like cooking in various schools is common worldwide. A group of families see this program as an essential part of a person’s life. On the other hand, some people suggest school has to focus on scientific education. in this essay both views will be discussed. Learning how to cook is an essential life skill which helps children to be able to provide a meal for themselves at home when they are alone. Nowadays, in most developed countries both parents work for long hours and have little times to cook homemade food for their children. This is also an effective way to encourage children not to get used to eating fast foods and other unhealthy alternatives. On the other hand, some people believe schools are only a place for scientific education and students’ time should not be allocate for other unnecessary activities such as cooking. Thus, learning how to cook can only distract children’s attention from what they initially sent to school for like mathematics, physics and other topics. In conclusion, although teaching how to cook meals at school could be beneficial to some extent for students, there are more important issues in schools that parents expect their children’s time spared for. I believe by orienting disagree families and show the health benefits of teaching how to cook at school, unsatisfied families might change their opinion and join the program.