With the rise of the internet more and more people are getting their news from social media platforms. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s digital age, as the number of users of the internet has surged, individuals rely on social media platforms to find their news. While there may be some advantages with reliance on social media platforms for news, it is more likely to have disadvantages. On the one hand, it is true that reliance on social media platforms for news carries some advantages. Firstly, this reliance could enhance the convenience of access to news. This is because people can use social media on smartphones wherever they are. Thus, they can check the news anywhere. Secondly, this reliance would reduce the cost of media compared with other media: TV and newspapers. Notably, the writer can spread the news only by posting the article on social media, which has less workload than other media. On the other hand, the disadvantages of reliance on social media platforms for news should be considered. Firstly, people could be misjudged because of incorrect information on social media. There is some wrong information, like fake news on social media, so it is difficult to distinguish which information is accurate. Secondly, employees who work in newspapers and TV companies might lose their jobs when the use of social media platforms increases, instead of watching TV and reading newspapers. In detail, the demand for other media might decrease, which could affect the employment of those companies. In conclusion, the disadvantages of reliance on social media platforms for news outweigh the advantages, because while there are some advantages in the short term, the drawbacks may persist in the long term.