The percentage of overweight children in Western society has increased by almost 20% in the last 10 years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend

In today’s world, there is an increasing percentage of overweight children in Western society, which would be concerning for parents, with it increasing significantly in the last 10 years. There are many reasons for youngsters becoming obese, such as dietary habits and limited physical activity. In the long-term, that could lead to health problems, as well as learning ability. Being overweight has become a major cause of well-being problems for children in Western society. Major contributors are poor diets and sedentary lifestyles. For example, consuming fast foods and sugary products is popular in Western society. Another reason is that sitting prolong to watching television, play video games, and smartphone, has led to a decline in physical activity among adolescents. These poor diets and habits can have long-term impacts on an individual’s health. The problems may include high blood pressure and other types of diseases, in particular, heart disease, diabetes, respiratory issues, and psychological impact. Besides, these health concerns can persist into adulthood. Further to this, the ability to learn in children also decreases due to the lack of concentration and low energy levels. Consequently, kids who are obese usual has low self-esteem, depression, and social isolation. To sum up, the increasing of overweight children in Western societies over the previous decade is indeed a concerning trend that can be attributed to a complex interplay of various factors. These factors are multifaceted, including changes in lifestyle, dietary habits, and environmental influences. Moreover, the effects of that trend are far-reaching, affecting not only the immediate health of children but also their long-term well-being and the overall healthcare system.