It is sometimes possible to pay somebody to do things you don't want to do, or don't have time to do, for example, household chores or looking after children. Is this a good way of providing work for others? Should people do these things themselves?

It is true that nowadays so many people resort to hiring people to take care of their household tasks, this attitude might be viewed as a manifestation of capitalism by a few and some might even go as far as considering it disrespectful. However, it is undeniable that these services can save time for those who require it, and be a source of income for those who are being hired. One reason that people are drawn towards hiring service workers for their household chores or tasks that they are not willing to carry out, is that we are all living a hectic lifestyle and sometimes we need some help, otherwise, an aspect of our lives would be sacrificed. For example, someone who is working double shifts, would find it difficult to properly clean their place and by outsourcing this particular chore, they will be able to save up some time to do something that could benefit their well-being. Moreover, in this example, the one who is being hired as a maid probably needs this income and as long as they are being paid and treated fairly per labour laws, I don’t find it problematic and view it as a win-win situation. Furthermore, it is understandable that this phenomenon might not be perceived well by everyone. Some people subscribe to a school of thought that might find this system as fawl. Because in their view, hiring people for meaningless labour that does not require any expertise could be immoral and unethical. They might argue that each individual should take responsibility for their for the chores around their house and within their family. In conclusion, I would argue that although paying others to do someone else’s duties might raise some ethical questions, if labour laws are practised in legal frameworks and both ends are engaging in it willingly, it could be beneficial for both parties.