In order to solve traffic problems government should tax private cars owners heavily and use the money to improve public transport. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Traffic problems is one of the major concerns of the public nowadays. It is always frustrating to experience a traffic jam or even a car cursh crash whenever we are in a rush. Therefore, finding methods to address traffic problems is becoming more and more crucial. One suggestion to alleviate traffic problems is that private vehicles owners should be taxed by government heavily, while the taxes are implemented to enhance public transport. This essay discusses the pros and cons of such a suggestion. In regard of benefits, by taxing the private vehicle drivers and using the taxes to enhance public transport, relevant government organisations, such as transport bureau and road development departments, can publish various policies to improve public transport. For instance transport bureau can introuduce more bus stops, railway lines, and even routes of ferry to ensure people in every district being able to take a ride when needed. Furthermore, Road development departments can use the money to build more highways and tunnels so that roads would not be crowded in the peak period. Notwithstanding the mentioned benefits of the solution, there would be significant downsides in which the needs for public to take public transport could be overwhelmed. The heavy tax on private cars owners can indeed decrese the amount of private vehicles on the road. yet it also increases the amount of people to take public transport, leading to a situtaion which they might need to queue for a dramatically long period before getting to the vehicles. To conclude, taxing the private vehicle drivers and using the taxes to enhance public transport can support releveant departments to publish multiple policies, which can significantly alleviate traffic problems. However, the side effect of the solution that might conversbly conversely causing nuisance to public is also necessary to be considered.