Learning English language at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local language and, if so, how?

Recent decades have seen an increasingly growing trend toward studying foreign languages. While offering certain benefits, such as the convenience of communicating with representatives from other countries, being so deeply involved in one subject is nevertheless fraught with pitfalls. This essay will try to shed some light on both sides of the debate, before expressing my own point of view. On the one hand, those considering knowledge as a main advantage, leading to success in the future, have numerous advocates with their weighty arguments. Indeed, it is crucial that children be well educated, while speaking a foreign language is all about wide opportunities. Those individuals are most likely to find themselves discovering new measures of this world, as well as, employers are bound to be favourably disposed to achievement and versatile students. On the other hand, the position of those regarding English as the main culprit behind the neglect of their native language, also merits every consideration. Hardly had the importance of English proficiency been recognized, when people started prioritizing them as essential components for success. Although dominating in the world culture, the popularity of learning languages frequently missed other essential knowledges to render made all efforts to the educational process doomed to failure. Despite my peers engaging with American TV shows, it is by no means enough to close the gap between their unsuccessful in understanding other fields. Suffice it to recall my own experience of growing up in a family that believed the more languages you know, the higher your level of education will be. As a result, I not only failed to learn any of them perfectly, but it also reflected badly on my native one. All the above mentioned have brought me to the conclusion that mandatory language learning is most likely to be a double-edged sword. While tempting to consider that English is expected to improve overall academic performance, it could be doomed to fail with your first. Only by striking a happy medium between learning of all subjects can we maintain overall success.