Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (For example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, advances in technology has enabled the governments, police and other dectective agencies to keep a check on the activities of ordinary citizens. With the presence of security cameras and use of cellphones, a persons whereabouts can be tracked easily. In my opinion, it is highly beneficial in controlling the criminal activities taking place in a region, but it can also be harmful. The essay, highlights the merits of such developments along with the prospective drawbacks with valid reasons, explanation and examples. It is worth considering, that the security cameras certainly control the criminal activities taking place in a region. It acts as a deterrant for a criminal. A person may think twice before breaking into a building or stealing a car. For instance, the money heist at 'The Central Bank of India' by a group of burglars was recorded in the cameras placed in the building, which helped the police in cracking the case and catching the robbers. Same is applicable to the mobile phones. By referring the call logs the location of the suspect and the victim can be tracked easily. It is most advantageous for the parents, as it enables them to keep a track of their children's activities. On the other hand, the use of modern gadgets comes with some drawbacks. Security cameras invade the privacy of individuals, especially in those countries where human rights are ignored. People become more conscious in meetings and gatherings, as their activities are being recorded in cameras around. Now-a-days people upload their personal information and pictures on various social media sites, unaware these can be misused by others or the service provider for their personal gains. For example, the photograph of girls can be tampered and used on porn sites. In conclusion, it is certain that more and more devices will be introduced in future for monitering people. It is our responsibility, to evaluate new technology and decide to use it or not. It is irrefutable to stop the crimes from happenning, but such devices can be helpful in controlling them.