It is pointless making children who lack artistic talent learn painting and drawing in Art classes at school. Instead, they should concentrate on other creative or practical subjects for which they may have more aptitude. To what extent to do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that Art classes should not be held for school children who do not possess any skill in drawing, allowing them to spend more time on lessons that require another kind of creativity. This essay agrees with the statement at some points, though the opinions differentiate at other ones. I believe that there are certain situations when it would be better to redirect the creativity of a certain child into other fields, while sometimes it is better to let a kid continue to work at their Art lessons. It is not uncommon for children to get frustrated when they face difficulties and failures. When a kid struggles with something, it is quite likely that this kid will want to abandon the work, and it also affects the child ’s mood and self-esteem. For instance, when a kid gets a low grade on the Art lesson due to the lack of artistic talent and, consequently, a bad drawing, the kid is ought to get sad about it, and if this scenario happens constantly, the kid might lose the will to keep going to school and think worse about oneself. In that case, it would be significantly better to allow the unfortunate artist to turn one’s attention to other creative disciplines to avoid the detrimental effect on the mental state of a child. On the contrary, many children are able to enjoy the artistic process and ability to express their creativity on paper even if they don’t have artistic talent. Public opinion usually holds lesser significance for kids, so criticism of their artworks may not have any destructive value for a child or one’s mentality, and when a kid likes to draw and paint, the Art lesson also becomes a fun and enjoyable activity. To exemplify, if the schoolchild takes pleasure in creating anything with one’s two hands, it is likely that the aforementioned child will be happy to spend time doing exactly that, even when the result is not quite plausible, exactly because the child enjoys the process. In that scenario, preventing a talentless kid from attending Art classes may do more harm than good. To conclude, it is safe to say that both approaches, namely, redirecting the child ’s attention, or letting a child to keep attending Art classes, may be equally useful, and the preferable one should be determined based on the individual child ’s will and interest.