Nowadays, young people are admiring media and sports stars, even though they do not set a good example. Do you think this is a positive or negative development.

These days, despite having a bad reputation in some cases, many media and sports stars are being admired. I vehemently believe due to the possibility of devaluing bad behaviors and declining of public’s understandings this is a completely negative development. One of the most important reasons why following superstars unconditionally is bad, is downplaying inappropriate behaviors. For example, many famous figures in sports have unhealthy and sometimes dangerous behaviors including drug addiction or drinking to much alcohol. When people follow these figures, they gradually try to become entirely like them and also their dangerous actions become a normal and even positive thing in followers’ minds. Thus, the followers start doing anything regardless of whether it is right or wrong to make themselves like their beloved player. Consequently, this might lead to many problems such as addiction and even aggressive actions. Another important reason is disappearing disappearance of creativity in societies. For example, when public figures such as media superstars see they are highly admired by many young people, regardless of the quality of what they are producing or playing in, they will lose motivation and willingness to be creative in their field. Over time, quality will be replaced by overproduction and the content of art will be vanished. In the long term, people’s attitudes will change to see worthless topics and the whole society’s level of understanding will decline. In conclusion, many famous sports and media figures are very popular and are admired regardless of them to be a proper example of being a model. I believe due to the possibility of downplaying bad behaviors and damaging people’s creativity, admiring these individuals is not a good action.