+ 5mins Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a univer¬sity should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own know¬ledge or experience.

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the purposes that uni¬versity education serves. However, whether they should mainly provide job-related skills or pure knowledge to graduates has caused heated debate. My view is that practical skills should be the main focus of universities. First, it is clear that for most students, the purpose of receiving university education is to obtain specific knowledge and skills, which will enable them to become qualified employees in the future job market. This is because most of them, after graduation, will enter the workplace, earn their living, and raise their own families. So, universities, as service providers, have to give top priority to these customers’ real needs. Moreover, focusing on the job-related skills can benefit the university itself. For example, the science fiction blockbuster “Avatar” has marked a milestone in the filmmaking industry and sparked massive interest in 3-D technology. If a university can quickly respond and consolidate teaching resources to offer courses regarding 3-D, not only will its graduates be more competitive in the near future, but the university itself will keep pace with the modern technological development and move forward. That is not to say that universities should not pay any attention to pure scientific research. There are, of course, students interested in theoretical knowledge such as math and philosophy, and they will later become scientists and scholars who will make greater contributions to our society. But unfortunately, these people are few. In sum, the major function of universities should be providing students with job-related skills, guaranteeing high rate of employment, and thus making the society function well. Meanwhile, we should not ignore the other important roles universities are undertak¬ing. Only by doing so can universities maintain dynamic and sustainable development. (290 words)