Are standardized tests the best way to evaluate students?

In the contemporary world, standardized tests, which is believe to be the idealistic way to criticize students is become more popular. The writer of this essay is in the agreement with this statement due to equalization among individuals and sorting students easily. However, others argue that this is not the appropriate method because tests can be effected by a myriad of objective elements. When it comes to standard-format exam, this type of test plays an essential role in putting students in the opportune study environment. To elaborate more, by doing formalized testing, students can identify their strengthen and weakness, helping them to embrace what they fit in. Moreover, with individuals ‘s ability to absorb wisdom, critical thinking skill and problem solving skill which have been tested by standardized exams, school can sort students in suitable class level. For instance, schools in Vietnam, especially high school have a well-organization of class level, allowing students in high level classes expose with academic theory, which is not exist in the lower level one. Another core reason of adapting formatting- tests is bringing equalization among students. That is to say, students coming from upper class are likely to manipulate their scores in midterm or final examinations in order to be promoted to advanced- level classes, which cannot be address in standardized exams. Formalized testing, therefore, can bring educational opportunities among individuals regardless their family background, giving students form the less privileged family chances to gain access to higher academic tracks. In contrast, there is a belief that tests cannot classify scholars ‘s ability. This is because result of formatting tests not only base on the intelligence of pupils, but also objective aspects such as their emotion and curriculum. With miserable feelings, individuals will face with challenges of managing their affection from negative feelings while doing exam, which absolutely lead to dreadful outcome. Nevertheless, if these students are talented, they will be recognized and supported by school as soon as possible. Pupils, thus, will have opportunities to be enrolled in deserve class. In conclusion, the writer of this essay is in priority of adapting standard-format exams in education due to equalization between scholars and the convenience of sorting them regardless of some objective factor.