Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? DO you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, more hours are spent by children on their smartphones. This is increasing because they have limited friends and this is a negative progress. Firstly, less and less youngsters prefer to play outdoor games. This is because of the excessive homework and pressure from school. They spend hours in completing work and this gives them very less time even to engage in playing. For example, the Tribune survey 2024 shows that the schools allocate 3 to 4 hours of homework to 8th class students. Therefore, they resort for indoor or online games for relaxing. Also, with the increasing crime rates, the parents are scared to send their young ones out and prefer them at home. Thus, the more sedentary life style is evident. While discussing the drawbacks, the most common being health issues. This is due to the sedentary lifestyle causing obesity and depression among youngsters. These further lead to coronary diseases, especially seen in 20s. For instance, the NICE guideline 2025 mentions that the 40% increase of myocardial infarction is seen in the age group 21 to 30 in the last 5 years. Furthermore, eye strain and power spectacles are also the side effects. There is also impact on their behaviour and they become anti-social, schizophrenic and start having panic attacks along with mood swings. Finally, the morbidity and mortality in the recent generation is increasing more rapidly. In conclusion, these phones are being more popular as younger’s have limed friends, less free hours, low security causing less physical activities. Several drawbacks seen include mental and physical ailments which hampers the quality of life.