Some people believe that modern architecture has made cities more attractive in the last century. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays projects concerning urbanization and revitalization are sweeping through small and large cities alike at a rapid pace. Stemming from that is the belief some people hold that new, contemporary architecture has made cities more appealing during the last hundred years. Personally, while I do agree that remodeling has done some places justice, I am of the opinion that modern architecture is often tacky and ruins cities ’ ambience. On the one hand, older buildings may often be rundown or even dilapidated due to wear and tear of the years. Caved roofs, rotten windows or rickety steps are not appealing to the eye, nor are those buildings safe to work or live in. It is difficult and expensive to maintain old architecture due to very specific materials and building methods used during their construction. Such buildings may make people feel haunted and anxious, especially if they are surrounded by newer, shinier ones and stick out like sore thumbs. That leads to demolition and remodeling processes. Such measures are taken to apartment buildings from Khruschev’s time, and in that case modern architecture does enhance cities ’ attractiveness. On the other hand, governments of big, metropolitan cities sometimes bring down older buildings that are in good condition to build shopping malls and skyscrapers. Because of that, historical neighborhoods lose their character and the atmosphere that many people enjoy. As a result of such continuous renovation cities start lacking uniformity and begin to look and feel like unsettling juxtapositions of different eras. Some central districts in Moscow, where historical architecture is mixed with modern glass-and-stone offices, can serve as an example of such mindless changes. In conclusion, it holds true that modern architecture can make cities more attractive, but only when it compliments its surroundings, not combats them. 293 words