Some people think that the time and money spent on the protection of wild animals should be spent on improving humans’ quality of life instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is sometimes argued that the time and funds allocated to wild animal conservation should be used to enhance human living standards. While I agree that human needs should undoubtedly take precendence, I firmly believe that resources for the protection of wild animals should not be entirely cut, as it is essential for human well-being and long-term success. On the one hand, it is understandable that some portion of resources currently spent on protecting wildlife could be redirected to human needs. This is because there are still many social issues that remain urgent, such as unemployment, poverty, crime, and an ageing population. Meanwhile, in many developing countries, public services, including education, healthcare, infrastructure, and military defense are all underfunded. Without reasonable money and effort to tackle these social problems, it can result in social instability and even affect national development. Consequently, governments might be overwhelmed by the social unrest, which diminish their ability to converse wild animals. However, despite the significance of prioritising human life, I contend that allocating sufficient time and funds to whildlife conservation remain indispensable for sustainable development. First of all, there is a complex interconnection between wild creatures and nature. This means that the environments could be negatively impacted if we do not invest enough resources to protect them. For instance, more and more species may become endangered and even extinct without human intervention, which aims to ban the activities like overhunting or overharvesting. This can not only directly threatens the biodiversity but also adversly affect the plants that depend on these species. Therefore, the deterioration of ecosystems will accelerate the environmental issues, such as global warming, ultimately leading to catastrophic consequences to human being. From an economic perspective, wildlife reserves can contribute to ecotourism, which plays an important role in supporting economy. For example, many tourists around the world are attracted to African Savannah to see spectacular animal migrations every year, generating significant revenue to the local communities and other relevant industry like aviation. This shows that saving wildlife with adequate resources can also increase funding for countries to improve human’s quality of living. Hence, protecting wild animal is not a charity but a long-term investiment, which will eventually return to humans. In conclusion, although some effort and funds could be redirected to address social problems and contemporary human needs, I maintain that guaranteeing moderate time and fiscal resources for wildlife conservation is critical. A balanced and careful resource allocation is the key to ensure the coexistence between humanity and the natural world, leading to a win-win situation in the long run.