Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate. Discuss both views and give you own opinion.

Many people believe that museums are for education only, while others argue that they should also be enjoyable places of entertainment. In this essay i want to illustrate that learning can be entertaining, and why i believe enjoying a museum is a much more efficient way to get educated. Many art gallerys are designed in a very drab manner placing picture after picture. There is hardly any background music as people want to take in the art by itself, and in educational museums there is either none at all, or too much information about the shown pieces. Especially for children this makes the experience more like a school trip rather than something of interest. Therefore, trying to educate people in such a monotounus way is very inefficient, as their main goal is to leave rather than learn. Most importantly, due to the sheer amount of education, the information is often already forgotten when leaving the museum. On the other hand, when going to a interactiv place of education, where people can be part of the learning process, they can remember it much easier and have a direct reference to what they accuired. For example, when I was still a child, I went to "Innatura", where I learnt about static electricity by placing my hands on a big electryfied ball and as a result my hair stood up in the air. Although, this is so long ago, I can still remember it because it was fun learing and i made a new understanding first hand. In summary, while many museums are made to school only, entertainement often comes with the bonus of beeing taught new things. Thus, a museum can be a place of education but benefits from beeing divers as well. I firmly believe, that museums with the focus on enjoyment are much better teachers than the ones that purely focus in information. In addition, a enjoyable place is always teaching, while an educational habitat is not always a amusement.