Some people argue that technological inventions, such as mobile phones, are making people socially less interactive. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, a huge amount of new technological inventions have changed the way people interact. Some individuals argue that this is leading to a decrease in social interaction. I partially agree with this because, although it is true that there is an increasing reliance on mobile phones and virtual dimensions, often the new technologies allow people to create new communities and spaces for interaction. On the one hand, mobile phones, personal computers and gaming consoles have made people less prone to engage with others. This is largely due to the fact that people prefer to spend their free time scrolling on social media or watching TV series and movies online. In fact, they claim that after a hard day at work or school, the best thing to do is to relax using with their phone. Moreover, it is increasingly common that youngsters spend their time enganging in virtual games. Take the video-game Call of duty as an example: gamers can create a team and play together, also communicating with one another. This has increased a false sense of connection, making people less inclined to socially interact. On the other hand, social media offer new forms of connection. In fact, through social networks such as Instagram, Tik Tok or even dating apps like Tinder and Bumble, plenty of new activities are promoted. For example, individuals often create communities to share their thoughts on specific topic, and organise social events and gatherings. In this way, also individuals who are more introverted find a way to hang out with peers. In conclusion, it is certainly true that smartphones, virtual games and other technologies make people less interested in social life, but it is worth considering the opportunities they offer to those who find it harder to socialise in traditional ways.