Some people think if students are afraid of teacher it is better. Others say that having a friendly relationship is better. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

People have different opinions about the best model of education: while some believe teachers should be strict, others reckon that only trusting relationships can be effective. In fact, although the concept of a tight discipline in a school historically widely occurs, positive education can be more valid. This essay will discuss why teaching based on fear is not as effective as commonly believed. To begin from the conservative model of education, it is similar to an army institute, where a lieutenant plays the role of absolute authority. Historically, there is a strict hierarchy in an educational institution. Moreover, for instance, in Russia there is so strong the culture of teachers so that even parents are afraid to be called by a school. Such system trains students to be disciplined, focused on subjects and perform their tasks on time to avoid any punishment. Nowadays, we have more evidence that fear-free schools are more effective. A friendly relationship with a teacher, unlike submission, increases an involvement in subjects due to a positive experience. In addition, if students are not anxious about possible mistakes during their studying, it will gain their confidence in the future. A good example of the student-friendly model can be the Finnish primary school. There is only one teacher who educates children for several years so that every child can develop a trusting relationship with him or her. As a result, students are motivated to study without any violence. In conclusion, the conservative vision on education remains common, despite the modern one demonstrating at least the same result. In my opinion, if violence can be avoided, we must do everything to avoid it. So fear-free study should be implemented everywhere.